Compared to my old purple shampoo, which was a light violet shade that I would rinse out of my hair after a quick lather, the Pravana purple mask is a thick cream formula in the most vibrant shade of purple-blue I’ve ever seen. Seriously, this stuff will stain your hands (and shower curtain and bath towels) if you’re not careful. And spoiler alert: It’s just as powerful on your hair. Similar to purple shampoo, this purple hair mask combats warm, yellow-toned brassiness with contrasting, cool-toned purple located on the opposite side of the color wheel. But because the dye is even more vibrant and the cream formula stays on your locks longer than shampoo, the effect is so much stronger. While the instructions on the tube recommend leaving the mask on your hair for up to five minutes before rinsing completely, Natalie suggested I try a longer eight-minute session a few times per week. After my first time using the mask, I could see the results right away. Areas that were looking a little more golden than I would like suddenly appeared a cooler, more platinum shade. After one month of using the mask regularly, it’s safe to say Pravana will be permanently replacing the drugstore purple shampoo in my hair care routine. Brassy-blond locks, you won’t be missed.